No events to show.

MIT Picked First in NEWMAC Women's Swimming and Diving Preseason Coaches' Poll

MIT Picked First in NEWMAC Women's Swimming and Diving Preseason Coaches' Poll

WESTWOOD, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) is looking forward to a competitive season for the 10 women's swimming and diving programs in the league. 

MIT, the reigning NEWMAC Champion, was picked to finish first in the 2019 Women's Swimming and Diving Preseason Coaches' Poll. The Engineers welcome back 30 All-Conference honors from nine student-athletes and 19 All-America accolades from eight student-athletes, while returning the 2019 NEWMAC Rookie of the Year in Laura Rosado and 2019 NEWMAC Diver of the Year in Deborah Wen

Wheaton earned the No. 2 spot with one first-place vote. The Lyons will be led by two-time All-American, three-time NEWMAC Champion and 2019 NEWMAC Swimmer of the Year in Lydia DaCorte. Coast Guard was chosen to finish third and welcomes back NEWMAC Champion Sarah Passilla and All-Conference honoree Josie McGuire

Springfield finished fourth and will return six seniors, followed by WPI in fifth. The Engineers will welcome back a large senior class of 13 student-athletes. Wellesley was named to the No. 6 place and will be led by All-Conference honoree Jessica Wegner. 

Babson claimed the No. 7 spot, as No. 8 Mount Holyoke, No. 9 Smith and No. 10 Clark rounded out the final three slots. The Beavers will return one senior and one junior, while the Lyons will have five seniors. The Pioneers will welcome back diver Shoshana Werblow, who qualified for the 2019 NCAA Diving Regionals, while the Cougars will look to its seven upperclassmen. 

The 2020 NEWMAC Swimming and Diving Championships will take place from Thursday, February 20th to Sunday, February 23rd, hosted by MIT. 

2019-20 NEWMAC Women's Swiming and Diving Preseason Poll

Rank (First Place Votes) 

1.   MIT (9) 

2.   Wheaton (1) 

3.   Coast Guard 

4.   Springfield 

5.   WPI 

6.   Wellesley 

7.   Babson 

8.   Mount Holyoke 

9.   Smith 

10. Clark  


 Laura Rosado, MIT

 Lydia DaCorte, Wheaton

 Josie McGuire, Coast Guard

Grace Moore, Springfield

Molly Sykes, WPI 

Jessica Wegner, Wellesley

 Celine Nie, Babson

Jacqueline Park, MHC


 Shoshana Werblow, Smith