No events to show.

Five NEWMAC Rowers Garner CRCA All-America Honors

Five NEWMAC Rowers Garner CRCA All-America Honors

Parts of this release are courtesy of Smith, Wellesley and WPI Sports Information.

WESTWOOD, Mass. - On July 10th The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) announced its Pocock All-America team for the 2019 season. This award recognizes the outstanding performances of rowers and coxswains at NCAA Division III institutions. The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) saw an impressive five student-athletes honored, two from Wellesley, Frances Dingivan and Rhiannon Mulligan as well as two from WPI, Kinsey McNamara and Christine Hovermale followed by Smith's Rachel Clendenning.

Smith's Clendenning helped lead the Pioneers to an impressive season which saw them ranked as high as No. 4 nationally and posted the best finish in program history at the 2018 Head of the Charles. Smith placed third at the NEWMAC Championships before finishing seventh at the National Invitational Rowing Championships (NIRC).

Wellesley's Dingivan and Mulligan helped guide the Blue to a third-place team finish at the 2019 NCAA Division III Championships. The duo was also part of the Blue's third-place finish in the Varsity Eight event at the NCAA Championships, with Dingivan in the stroke seat and Mulligan in the six seat for the Blue's top crew. Dingivan and Mulligan were fixtures in the top boat throughout the spring, also helping the Blue Varsity Eight to capture silver at this year's NIRC on Lake Quinsigamond.

WPI's McNamara and Hovermale have been a mainstay in the nationally-ranked varsity eight that captured the program's first NEWMAC Championship and went on to collect silver medals at the 2019 NCAA Division III Rowing Championships. In all, the varsity eight was 33-0 in the spring regular season, including an upset of eventual national champion Bates, and was ranked No. 1 for three weeks. The runner up at the New England Rowing Championships went on to finish 59-4 overall and 22-4 versus fellow NCAA championship participants. 

Rachel Clendenning

Frances Dingivan

Christine Hovermale

Kinsey McNamara

Rhiannon Mulligan

Division III Pocock All-America First Team
Cox: Susan Hurwitz (William Smith)

  1. L. Sophia Rintell (Bates College)
  2. Danielle Schuman (Hamilton College)
  3. Savannah Brija (Ithaca College)
  4. Hannah Peterson (Pacific Lutheran University)
  5. Erika Reynolds (Washington College)
  6. Frances Dingivan (Wellesley College)
  7. Sarah Osborn (Wesleyan)
  8. Kinsey McNamara (WPI)

Division III Pocock All-America Second Team
Cox: Olivia Robb (Washington College)

  1. Hannah Fitts (Bates College)
  2. Sierra Keat (Ithaca College)
  3. Madeline Woods (Pacific Lutheran University)
  4. Rachel Clendenning (Smith College)
  5. Alyssa Bebout (University of Puget Sound)
  6. Rhiannon Mulligan (Wellesley College)
  7. Allison Quintana (Wesleyan)
  8. Christine Hovermale (WPI)