No events to show.

Clark Set to Host the 2019 NEWMAC Rowing Championship

Clark Set to Host the 2019 NEWMAC Rowing Championship



WESTWOOD, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) is looking forward to the 2019 NEWMAC Rowing Championships on Saturday, April 27th at the Donahue Rowing Center at Lake Quinsigamond, hosted by Clark University. 

WPI comes into the championship as the top-ranked team in the nation. The WPI Varsity 8 holds an undefeated record so far this season, including besting the defending national-champion Bates. Smith comes into the championship ranked fifth in the nation, defeating nationally-ranked crews in Wesleyan, Colby, and William Smith. 

Wellesley is slotted No. 6 in the country with victories over nationally-ranked RIT and Tufts. Mount Holyoke rounds out the NEWMAC-ranked teams at No. 15 with the MHC Varsity 8 finishing first in two regattas this spring. After facing tough competition last weekend, Clark is receiving votes in the national poll for the first time this season and seeks a strong showing in this weekend's racing. 

Simmons will look to improve on its fourth-place finish last year by building off its Varsity Eight's second-place time at the Clark Invitational. After facing nationally-ranked Tufts this season, Coast Guard enters the championship as a young team with 11 first-years and eight sophomores. 

At the 2018 NEWMAC Championship, Wellesley swept the competition and earned the title for the eighth consecutive year and ninth in program history with 44 points. WPI followed with 30 points, while Smith finished third with 22 points.

The NEWMAC Champion will be awarded the Florence Smith Cup, which is given to the school with the highest number of points from Saturday's results. Scoring will be calculated using a point system on the fact that there are a total of seven schools in Saturday's competition. 

The schedule of events is as follows: 

Time Race and Lane Assignments

Varsity 8

0 - WPI         

1- Wellesley           

2 - Smith      

3 - MHC        

4 - Simmons

5 - CGA         

6 - Clark 


Second Varsity 8

0 - WPI         

1 - Wellesley           

2 - Smith      

3 - MHC         

4 - CGA         

5 - Clark        

6 - Simmons


Third Varsity 8

1 – Smith

2 – Wellesley

3 – WPI

4 – Simmons 


Fourth Varsity 8

1 – Wellesley

2 – WPI