Thu Oct 24
7:00 PM
at Western New Eng.
Thu Oct 24
7:00 PM
at Emerson
Fri Oct 25
6:00 PM
Framingham St.
at Mount Holyoke
Fri Oct 25
6:00 PM
at Coast Guard
Sat Oct 26
10:00 AM
New Paltz
at Coast Guard
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

NEWMAC Releases 2018-19 Women's Basketball Postseason Honors

NEWMAC Releases 2018-19 Women's Basketball Postseason Honors

WESTWOOD, Mass. - After another thrilling season of New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) competition, the league announced the 2018-19 Women's Basketball All-Conference and postseason awards. 

Smith's Lauren Bondi was named the Athlete of the Year after an impressive senior campaign. Bondi led the NEWMAC in overall points per game (18.7), three-point percentage (43.0) and free throw percentage (85.3). The senior guard helped the Pioneers earn the No. 2 seed in the NEWMAC Tournament and an at-large bid into the NCAA Tournament. 

Springfield's Alex Goslin earned the title of Defensive Player of the Year for her efforts on the court during her junior season. Goslin ranked first in overall steals with 59 and was top five in steals per game. The junior guard tallied at least one steal, with a career-high seven in a single game, in every game except two and pulled down 80 rebounds. 

MIT's Christina Antonakakis was tabbed the Rookie of the Year. The first-year guard started four games for the Engineers and was second overall in the conference in three-point percentage (42.9). Antonakakis scored in double-digit figures 12 times this season. 

Emerson's Bill Gould was named the Coach of the Year after leading the team to a 11-5 NEWMAC record and a fifth-seed in the tournament. Gould and the Lions finished the season with a 17-9 overall record and held a six-game winning streak during the 2018-19 season. 

The NEWMAC Women's Basketball All-Conference Team consists of a first and second team of six selections which are voted on by the 11 head women's basketball coaches. The 2018-19 honorees are listed below.

Also being recognized are the 11 women's basketball student-athletes that were named to the All-Sportsmanship Team. The award is intended to recognize one student-athlete from each team, in every sport that best demonstrates the ideals of the NEWMAC and its Code of Conduct, regardless of his/her overall performance or statistics for the season.


Lauren Bondi, Smith

Athlete of the Year

Alex Goslin, Springfield

Defensive Player of the Year

Christina Antonakakis, MIT

Rookie of the Year

Bill Gould, Emerson

Coach of the Year

2018-19 NEWMAC Women's Basketball All-Conference Team

Team Name Institution
First Team All-Conference Lauren Bondi Smith College
First Team All-Conference Payton Ouimette Babson College
First Team All-Conference Kennedy Guest-Pritchett Smith College
First Team All-Conference Kara Holinski MIT
First Team All-Conference Alex Goslin Springfield College
First Team All-Conference Charlie Boyle Emerson College
Second Team All-Conference Gracie Restituyo Springfield College
Second Team All-Conference Micaela Martinelli U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Second Team All-Conference Katherine Tamulionis Babson College
Second Team All-Conference Ogechi Ezemma Clark University
Second Team All-Conference Caitlin Aguirre Wellesley College
Second Team All-Conference Mikayla Pucci Wheaton College


2018-19 NEWMAC Women's Basketball All-Sportsmanship Team

Name Institution
Emily Bonifacic Babson College
Cori Oullette Clark University
Kate Foultz Emerson College
Dolly Yuan MIT
Annika Brooks Mount Holyoke College
Sydney Koh Smith College
Lauren Rudolph  Springfield College
Zoe Riis-Fallica U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Zojajha Ayub Wellesley College
Natalie Wind Wheaton College
Alyssa Paul WPI