No events to show.

NEWMAC Releases 2019 Women's Basketball Championship Bracket; Babson Secures Top Seed

NEWMAC Releases 2019 Women's Basketball Championship Bracket; Babson Secures Top Seed

2019 Women's Basketball Championship Bracket

WESTWOOD, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference has released the 2019 Women's Basketball Championship bracket. The championship tournament will consist of seven teams that will begin postseason play on Tuesday, February 19th. 

Following a record of 14-2 in league play, Babson (20-4, 14-2) secured the top seed and a quarterfinal bye by earning the regular season title. Smith (20-5, 13-3) claimed the No. 2 spot and hosting rights to a quarterfinal contest on Tuesday, February 19th. In a head to head tie break, Springfield (16-9, 12-4) earned the No. 3 seed, followed by MIT (18-7, 12-4) at the No. 4 seed with both teams hosting a quarterfinal game. Joining the field in the next two slots are No. 5 Emerson (17-8, 11-5) and No. 6 Clark (11-14, 7-9). After NEWMAC tie breaking procedures were applied, Wellesley (8-14, 5-11) earned the final spot as the No. 7 seed. 

The Pioneers will host the Blue on Tuesday, while the Cougars will travel to the Pride and the Lions will head across town to the Engineers. The top-seeded Beavers will host a semifinal matchup with the winner of the game between the No. 5 Emerson and No. 4 MIT, while the winner of No. 6 Clark and No. 3 Springfield will take on the winner of No. 2 Smith and No. 7 Wellesley on Thursday, February 21st at the highest remaining seeds. 

The winners of the each semifinal game will meet in the final game on Saturday, February 23rd at the site of the highest remaining seed. 

2019 NEWMAC Women's Basketball Championship

Quarterfinals: Tuesday, February 19th (at highest seeds)

No. 7 Wellesley at No. 2 Smith – 7:00 p.m.

No. 6 Clark at No. 3 Springfield – 7:00 p.m.

No. 5 Emerson at No. 4 MIT – 7:00 p.m.

Semifinals: Thursday, February 21st (at highest remaining seeds)

Winner No. 4/5 at No. 1 Babson  – 7:00 p.m.

Winner No.3/No. 6 vs. Winner No. 2/7 – 7:00 p.m.

Championship: Saturday, February 23rd (at highest remaining seed)

Semifinal Winners – 1:00 p.m.