No events to show.

NEWMAC Releases 2019 Softball Postseason Awards

NEWMAC Releases 2019 Softball Postseason Awards

WESTWOOD, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) released the 2019 Softball Postseason awards and All-Sportsmanship selections on Tuesday morning. 

WPI's Caraline Wood was selected as the 2019 Athlete of the Year. The senior boasted a .445 batting average, a 1.056 slugging percentage, eight homeruns and 29 RBIs in conference play. Wood has produced an outstanding senior campaign with over 15 or more multi-hit and multi-RBI games this season. 

MIT's Ravenne Nasser was named the 2019 Pitcher of the Year, after tallying a 9-1 league record in the circle with eight complete games, 61 strikeouts and a 1.20 ERA. The senior become just the second NEWMAC student-athlete to be named the Louisville Slugger/National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) Division III National Pitcher of the Week on April 9th, after throwing two consecutive no-hitters. 

WPI's Lindsay Ambrosino earned the title of 2019 Rookie of the Year. Ambrosino started every game at shortstop and was at the top of the batting order for the Engineers, recording league numbers of six home runs, 21 RBIs and five stolen bases. The first-year held a .375 batting average and .768 slugging percentage in conference play. 

WPI's Head Coach Whitney Goldstein was named the 2019 Coach of the Year for the second time in her career. Goldstein led the Engineers to the regular season title with a league record of 16-2.  

Voted on by the 10 head softball coaches, the NEWMAC Softball All-Conference Team consists of a first and second team of 10 honorees. The 2019 selections are listed below.

Also being recognized are the 10 softball student-athletes that were named to the All-Sportsmanship Team. The award is intended to recognize one student-athlete from each team, in every sport that best demonstrates the ideals of the NEWMAC and its Code of Conduct, regardless of his/her overall performance or statistics for the season.



Athlete of the Year

Caraline Wood, WPI

Pitcher of the Year

Ravenne Nasser, MIT

Rookie of the Year

Lindsay Ambrosino, WPI

Coach of the Year

Whitney Goldstein, WPI


2019 NEWMAC Softball All-Conference

Team Name Institution
First Team All-Conference Caraline Wood WPI
First Team All-Conference Ravenne Nasser MIT
First Team All-Conference Josephine Mares Babson College
First Team All-Conference Gen Brittingham Wellesley College
First Team All-Conference Alexyss Conley Springfield College
First Team All-Conference Devon Goetz MIT
First Team All-Conference Colleen Campbell MIT
First Team All-Conference Mackenzie Phillips WPI
First Team All-Conference Brooke Stock Babson College
First Team All-Conference Shelby Allen Springfield College
Second Team All-Conference Lindsay Ambrosino WPI
Second Team All-Conference Jacqueline Paul Babson College
Second Team All-Conference Marissa Gonzales WPI
Second Team All-Conference Kallista Leonardos Emerson College
Second Team All-Conference Courtney McKenna U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Second Team All-Conference Jade Assad Wheaton College
Second Team All-Conference Michelle Wist MIT
Second Team All-Conference Neely Eddleston Emerson College
Second Team All-Conference Ashley Tango Babson College
Second Team All-Conference Marisa Hensch Wellesley College


2019 NEWMAC All-Sportsmanship Honorees

Name Institution
Charlie Guscott Babson College
Kayleigh McHugh Clark University
Alena Jones Emerson College
Michelle Wist MIT
Emma Kraus Smith College
Marisa Valenti Springfield College
Sharayah Simco U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Sydney Hopper Wellesley College
Clara DeCarvalho Wheaton College
Brittany Bolster WPI