No events to show.

MIT Takes Top Spot in NEWMAC Men's Swimming and Diving Preseason Coaches' Poll

MIT Takes Top Spot in NEWMAC Men's Swimming and Diving Preseason Coaches' Poll

WESTWOOD, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) is looking forward to another outstanding season for the league's seven men's swimming and diving programs, as the NEWMAC revealed the 2019-20 Men's Swimming and Diving Preseason Coaches' Poll.

MIT was chosen as the preseason favorite with six first-place votes. The Engineers will return 30 All-Conference honors from 12 student-athletes and 25 All-America accolades from 10 student-athletes. The returners are highlighted by the 2019 NCAA Three-Meter Diving Champion and NEWMAC Diver of the Year Jay Lang, NCAA National Runner-Up Bouke Edskes, and NEWMAC Rookie of the Year Jordan Ren

Coast Guard was tabbed to finish second with one first-place vote and will be led by two-time All-American and NEWMAC Champion Joe Rodriquez, along with NEWMAC Champion Eric Fuhs and All-Conference honoree Devin McClure. WPI followed in the No. 3 spot and will return All-Conference honoree and NCAA participant Clayton Besch

Wheaton was named to the No. 4 spot and will welcome nine first-year student-athletes. Springfield earned the No. 5 spot and will be led by two-time All-American diver, All-Region Champion and All-Conference honoree Connor Pennington and All-American Honorable Mention Luca Brashear

No. 6 Babson and No. 7 Clark rounded out the final two spots in the poll. The Beavers will look to its three seniors, while the Cougars will welcome seven first-year student-athletes. 

The 2020 NEWMAC Swimming and Diving Championships will take place from Thursday, February 20th to Sunday, February 23rd, hosted by MIT. 

2019-20 NEWMAC Men's Swiming and Diving Preseason Poll

Rank (First Place Votes) 

1.   MIT (6) 

2.   Coast Guard (1) 

3.   WPI 

4.   Wheaton 

5.   Springfield 

6.   Babson 

7.   Clark  

Jay Lang, MIT

Joe Rodriquez, Coast Guard 

 Clayton Besch, WPI

Daniel Roch, Wheaton

Connor Pennington, Springfield

Jack Lucero, Babson

Matt Finnegan, Clark