MIT Claims 2018-19 Men’s NEWMAC Presidents Cup for Fourth Straight Year

MIT Claims 2018-19 Men’s NEWMAC Presidents Cup for Fourth Straight Year

WESTWOOD, Mass. – For the fourth consecutive year, MIT has been honored with the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Men's Presidents Cup, as announced at the conference's annual meetings by WPI President Laurie Leshin along with NEWMAC President and WPI Director of Athletics Dana Harmon. The Engineers captured five men's postseason championships and two regular season titles during the 2018-19 academic year.

 "The MIT Athletics program had another exceptional year, and I applaud everyone who made this achievement possible," said MIT Chancellor Cynthia Barnhart. "Congratulations to the student-athletes, coaches, and staff for once again performing at such a high level in such a competitive setting.  Earning both the NEWMAC men's and women's Presidents Cup for a fifth time overall is not something we take for granted. It's a true honor, and a victory that our teams fought hard for."

MIT began its success in the fall, as the men's cross country team earned its 21st consecutive conference crown, placing seven runners in the top 10 during the NEWMAC Championship in October. The team finished 16th at the National Championship.

MIT kicked off the winter with men's swimming and diving winning their 11th straight championship title, before finishing sixth at the National Championship. The men's basketball team earned the title of regular season champions and earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Championship Tournament, advancing to the Second Round.

In the spring, the men's track and field team claimed the programs 19th straight NEWMAC championship while men's tennis garnered the programs 21st league crown with baseball earning its first title since 2015. Track and field finished the season as the national runner-up at the NCAA Championships, while men's tennis and baseball advanced to the regional rounds of the NCAA Championship Tournament.

"I am very proud of our student-athletes, coaches and staff for another great year in the NEWMAC, which has proven annually to be one of the top Division III conferences in the country," said Julie Soriero, MIT Director of Athletics. "To be able to represent the NEWMAC is something that MIT takes great pride in and as a conference, our members do a great job performing on the regional and national level. With 12 NEWMAC Championships, three individual NCAA National Champions and 16 teams competing in NCAA Championship events, our teams at MIT have again had a great year representing the Institute and we are very pleased to receive this year's NEWMAC Presidents Cups."

MIT has now earned the Presidents Cup for the men in 2012-13, 2013-14, 2015-16, 2016-17, 2017-18, and 2018-19. This is also the fifth time since the inaugural year in 2012-13 that MIT swept both the men's and women's Presidents Cup honors.

The Presidents Cup is an all-sports award presented to the top overall men's and women's programs in the conference and is determined using a weighted points system based on the order of finish during both regular season and championship competition.  

2018-19 NEWMAC Men's Presidents Cup Top Three

1. MIT

2. WPI

3. Babson College