No events to show.

NEWMAC Announces 2017-18 Women's Basketball Postseason Awards

Biney photo courtesy of Brandon Hill
Biney photo courtesy of Brandon Hill

WESTWOOD, Mass. – The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced the Women's Basketball All-Conference and Postseason Awards on Tuesday morning. Helping lead their squads to a share of the NEWMAC Regular Season Title, Smith's Kennedy Guest-Pritchett and WPI's Ama Biney have been named the Co-Athletes of the Year while Biney was also tabbed the Defensive Player of the Year. MIT's Kylie Gallagher was named the Rookie of the Year for her efforts on the court during her first year campaign.

Leading the Pioneers to the No. 1 Seed in the NEWMAC Championship, with a share of the Regular Season crown and an impressive 13-0 finish at home during the regular season, Smith's head coach, Lynn Hersey has been named the 2017-18 Coach of the Year.

The NEWMAC Women's Basketball All-Conference Team consists of a first and second team of six selections which are voted on by the 11 head women's basketball coaches. The 2017-18 honorees are listed below.

Also being recognized are the 11 women's basketball student-athletes that were named to the All-Sportsmanship Team. The award is intended to recognize one student-athlete from each team, in every sport that best demonstrates the ideals of the NEWMAC and its Code of Conduct, regardless of his/her overall performance or statistics for the season.

Ama Biney, WPI
Co-Athlete of the Year
Defensive Player of the Year

Kennedy Guest-Pritchett, Smith
Co-Athlete of the Year

Kylie Gallagher, MIT
Rookie of the Year

Lynn Hersey, Smith
Coach of the Year


2017-18 NEWMAC Women's Basketball All-Conference Team

Team Name Institution
First Team All-Conference Ama Biney WPI
First Team All-Conference Kennedy Guest-Pritchett Smith College
First Team All-Conference Payton Ouimette Babson College
First Team All-Conference Taylor V'Dovec MIT
First Team All-Conference Gracie Restituyo Springfield College
First Team All-Conference Lauren Bondi Smith College
Second Team All-Conference Kara Holinski MIT
Second Team All-Conference Madison Beck WPI
Second Team All-Conference Ogechi Ezemma Clark University
Second Team All-Conference Dolly Yuan MIT
Second Team All-Conference Caitlin Aguirre Wellesley College
Second Team All-Conference Charlie Boyle Emerson College

2017-18 NEWMAC Women's Basketball All-Sportsmanship Team

Name Institution
Opaul Morris Wheaton College
Natalie Clydesdale Emerson College
Ireland Clare Kennedy Mount Holyoke College
Alex Goslin Springfield College
Paige Marquez Smith College
Zojaha Ayub Wellesley College
Jill Bray U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Maya Kerstetter Clark University
Lindsay Westlake MIT
Elizabeth Lane Babson College
Maura Buckley WPI