No events to show.

NEWMAC Announces 2017 Softball Postseason Awards

NEWMAC Announces 2017 Softball Postseason Awards

BOSTON, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced the 2017 Softball All-Conference selections and major award winners on Monday afternoon. Following an impressive 2017 regular season, reaching No. 1 in the New England Region, Springfield took home Athlete and Pitcher of the Year as Kirsten Drobiak and teammate Talia Loda earned the honors while their coach, Kate Bowen claimed the Coach of the Year nod in her first season with the Pride. After helping the Engineers to a regular season title this season, WPI's Mackenzie Phillips has been tabbed the Rookie of the Year.

The NEWMAC All-Conference team includes 10 members on First Team and 10 members on the Second Team which are listed below.

New to the conference this year, the NEWMAC has established an All-Sportsmanship Team for the 2016-17 Academic Year. The award is intended to recognize one student-athlete from each team, in every sport that best demonstrates the ideals of the NEWMAC and its Code of Conduct, regardless of his/her overall performance or statistics for the season. The 10 softball All-Sportsmanship Team honorees are listed below.

Athlete of the Year
Kristen Drobiak
Springfield College

Pitcher of the Year
Talia Loda
Springfield College

Rookie of the Year
Mackenzie Phillips

Coach of the Year
Kate Bowen
Springfield College

2017 NEWMAC Softball All-Conference Team

Team Name Institution
First Team Kirsten Drobiak Springfield College
First Team Talia Loda Springfield College
First Team Renee LeClaire WPI
First Team Jasmin Joseph MIT
First Team Ashtyn Coleman Wellesley College
First Team Anna Pisac Wellesley College
First Team Kallista Leonardos Emerson College
First Team Ally Snyder Smith College
First Team Ama Biney WPI
First Team Carianna Gasdia Springfield College
Second Team Josephine Mares Babson College
Second Team Allie Wheeler Springfield College
Second Team Ravenne Nasser MIT
Second Team Amanda Manning Wellesley College
Second Team Danielle Cimino Wheaton College
Second Team Courtney McKenna U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Second Team Mackenzie Phillips WPI
Second Team Mary DeMoura Wheaton College
Second Team Leslie Moore Babson College
Second Team Cassie Graca WPI

2017 NEWMAC Softball All-Sportsmanship Team

Name Institution
Kylie Juarez WPI
Alie Trueworthy MIT
Shelby Carney Emerson College
Nicole Cring Springfield College
Mary DeMoura Wheaton College
Shannon Kortmann Babson College
Lauren Mackey Clark University
Kendra Coleman Wellesley College
Natalie Burchat Smith College
Casey Cruzpino

U.S. Coast Guard Academy