No events to show.

Babson Claims No. 1 Slot in Field Hockey Preseason Coaches' Poll

Babson Claims No. 1 Slot in Field Hockey Preseason Coaches' Poll

WESTWOOD, Mass. – After a competitive 2016 NEWMAC Field Hockey season that boasted an NCAA National Semifinal appearance by Babson the conference is eager to see what 2017 will bring. With a regular season and tournament crown under the belts from last November, Babson has been tabbed as the preseason favorites claiming eight first place votes. After advancing to the title game last year, MIT is slated at No. 2 with one first place vote. 

After making a semifinal appearance in 2016, Smith has been tabbed at No. 3 while No. 4 Wellesley and No. 5 Mount Holyoke follow. Rounding out the remaining slots is No. 6 Springfield, No. 7 Clark, No. 8 WPI and No. 9 Wheaton.

The 2017 season will welcome back 11 All-Conference winners, eight All-Region honorees, three All-Americans (Ashley Tango, Lauren Drakeley, Babson; Emily Penn, MIT) and three major award winners in Tango (Athlete of the Year), Drakeley (Defensive Player of the Year) and Springfield's Taylor Conley (Rookie of the Year).

2017 NEWMAC Field Hockey Preseason Poll

Rank (First Place Votes)
1. Babson (8)
2. MIT (1)
3. Smith
4. Wellesley
5. Mount Holyoke
6. Springfield
7. Clark
8. WPI
9. Wheaton

Julie Mortimer, Babson
Emily Penn, MIT

Beatrice Chaudoin, Smith

Emmy Hamilton, Wellesley
Kaitlin Braz, Mount Holyoke
Maggie Kennedy, Springfield
Haley Mahan, Clark
Ally Mills, WPI

Elizabeth Helmreich, Wheaton