MIT Men Claim 2017-18 NEWMAC Presidents Cup for Third Consecutive Year

MIT Men Claim 2017-18 NEWMAC Presidents Cup for Third Consecutive Year

WESTWOOD, Mass. – For the fifth time since its inaugural year (2012-2013) MIT has been honored with the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Men's Presidents Cup, as announced at the conference's annual meetings by WPI President Laurie Leshin along with NEWMAC President and WPI Director of Athletics Dana Harmon. The Engineers captured five men's postseason championships during the 2017-18 academic year, as well as one regular season title. 

"This has been a fantastic year for the MIT Athletics program and the accomplishments are extremely impressive," said MIT Chancellor Cynthia Barnhart. "I would like to congratulate our student-athletes, coaches and staff on the tremendous achievement of earning this year's NEWMAC men's and women's Presidents Cups. The NEWMAC features some of the highest-level performers in the country and to succeed there is a testament to the hard work and dedication put forward by all those associated with our athletic programs. It is truly an honor for MIT to receive the 2018 NEWMAC Presidents Cups." 

The MIT cross country team kicked off the year by winning its 20th consecutive conference title, and placing nine runners in the top 14 during the NEWMAC Championships back in November. The squad went on to place 16th at the National Championship. 

MIT continued its success into the winter season with the men's swimming & diving team earning their 10th consecutive championship crown in their home pool before the men's basketball team went on to claim their second consecutive league title on the road on the same day. The men's swimming and diving program went on to take fifth at the National Championship while the men's basketball team advanced to the Elite Eight. 

In the spring, the men's track and field team claimed the programs 18th straight NEWMAC championship while men's tennis garnered the programs 20th league crown. Track and field went on to earn 38th place at Nationals while men's tennis advanced to the second round at the NCAA Championship. 

"The NEWMAC is one of the most competitive conferences in the country and that is evident by how many of the league's student-athletes and teams compete on the national level each year," said Julie Soriero, MIT Director of Athletics. "This has been a historic year for MIT Athletics with three Elite Eight berths, three Sweet 16 appearances and 14 NEWMAC Championships. We are proud of the accomplishments of our student-athletes, staff and coaches and receiving the Presidents Cups this year in such a competitive conference is something we take great pride in. Representing the NEWMAC at the highest level is something that our conference schools do across the board and we are proud to receive this honor."

MIT has now earned the Presidents Cup for the men in 2012-13, 2013-14, 2015-16, 2016-17 and 2017-18. This is also the fourth time since the inaugural year in 2012-13 that MIT swept both the men's and women's Presidents Cup honors. 

The Presidents Cup is an all-sports award presented to the top overall men's and women's programs in the conference and is determined using a weighted points system based on the order of finish during both regular season and championship competition.

2017-18 NEWMAC Men's Presidents Cup Top Three
1. MIT
2. WPI
3. Springfield College